Weihnachten 2018 – wir unterstützen das KIRAN Village in Nordindien

Das Jahr neigt sich dem Ende zu und auch wir bei PPM sind mal wieder in Festtagsstimmung. Wie jedes Jahr zur Weihnachtszeit besinnen wir uns auf Möglichkeiten, um der Gesellschaft etwas zurückzugeben.

Zu Weihnachten 2018 haben wir dieses Jahr beschlossen, kein Geld für Geschenke & Co auszugeben. Stattdessen unterstützt PPM im Nahmen aller Kunden und Partner das Projekt KIRAN Village in der Nähe von Varanasi/Benares in Nordindien – eine Institution, die integrierter Bildung und Rehabilitation von behinderten Kindern und Jugendlichen fördert und ihre Eltern unterstützt.
Die Entscheidung, das KIRAN Village zu Unterstützen ist für uns eine Familienangelegenheit: Hampi Stastny, erfahrener Orthopädietechniker, Aushilfsfahrer bei PPM und Vater von Oli Stastny besucht seit vielen Jahren regelmässig das KIRAN Village und unterstützt mit seiner fundierten Fachkenntnis aktiv die Orthopädie Wekstatt. Seine Freiwilligenarbeit verrichtet er mit Hingabe und Engagement um eine bessere Zukunft für die Kinder und Jugendlichen des KIRAN Village zu schaffen. Darum fliesst dieses Jahr jeder Penny des PPM Weihnachtsbudgets in die Finanzierung von 13 Rollstühlen für die Kinder des KIRAN Village in Indien.

Über KIRAN Village

Das KIRAN Village bei Varanasi/Benares (Nordindien) bietet Kindern und Jugendlichen mit Behinderung ein umfassendes und den individuellen Bedürfnissen angepasstes Angebot an Ausbildung und Betreuung. Ein Grossteil der mittlerweile fast 400 Kinder und Jugendlichen ist von körperlichen, geistigen oder mehrfachen Behinderungen betroffen, etwa aufgrund von cerebralen Bewegungsstörungen, Kinderlähmung, Rachitis oder Tuberkulose.

KIRANs Ziel ist eine Gesellschaft, in der unterschiedlich begabte Menschen die gleichen Rechte und Chancen haben, ein sinnvolles, menschenwürdiges und sicheres Leben zu führen. Im Vordergrund steht die ganzheitliche Entwicklung und Ausbildung unterschiedlich begabter Kinder und Jugendlicher. Dies beinhaltet Erziehung, Bildung, Ausbildung, Rehabilitation und soziale Integration in einem barrierefreien Umfeld. KIRAN unterstützt unterschiedlich begabte Kinder und Jugendliche, in Partnerschaft mit ihren Eltern, um ihre Fähigkeiten und Talente zu fördern, damit sie als Erwachsene ein möglichst befriedigendes und würdiges Leben in der Gesellschaft leben können.

Ein Team von gut ausgebildeten Fachspezialisten begleitet die Kinder und ihre Familien im KIRAN Village sowie in zahlreichen Dörfern der Umgebung. Es ist besorgt um Rehabilitation (Diagnose, Therapie, medizinische Massnahmen, orthopädische Hilfsmittel, Vorbeugung) sowie die Grund- und Berufsausbildung. Angegliedert ist auch eine Fachschule für Sonderpädagoginnen und -pädagogen. Das KIRAN nimmt auch nicht behinderte Kinder auf – meist aus sehr armen Verhältnissen – um die gegenseitige Akzeptanz und die gesellschaftliche Integration zu fördern.

KIRAN heisst auf Hindi «Sonnenstrahl», und so soll das 1990 gegründete KIRAN Village ein Sonnenstrahl für Menschen unterschiedlicher Herkunft, Kaste, Religion oder Sprache sein – eine hoffnungsvolle interreligiöse und interkulturelle Institution.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Schreiben Sie etwas und drücken Sie Enter, um danach zu suchen

Holiday Season 2018 – Giving back and supporting the KIRAN Village

The year is drawing to a close and as ever during the festive season the PPM team is looking for ways to give back and to share the holiday spirit.

For the 2018 Christmas celebrations, we have decided to refrain from spending money on Christmas gifts. Instead, in the name of all our clients and partners, PPM will be actively supporting the KIRAN Village in the area of Varanasi/Benares in northern India – an institution, which promotes integrated education and rehabilitation for differently abled and marginalized children and young adults.
Supporting the Kiran Village is a family affair for us: Hampi Stastny, professional orthopedic technician, back-up driver for PPM and father of Oli Stastny has been visiting the Kiran institution on a regular basis for the past decade, providing hands on support to their Orthotic & Prosthetic Unit. His voluntary work is a matter of dedication to create a brighter future for the children and young adults at Kiran Village. Therefore, every penny of this year’s Christmas budget will go into financing 13 wheelchairs for the children at Kiran Village.

About KIRAN Village

The KIRAN Village in the area of Varanasi/Benares (north India) offers differently abled children and young adults a comprehensive and individually tailored range of education and care services. The majority of the by now almost 400 children and teenagers at KIRAN Village live with physical, mental or multiple disabilities, caused for example by cerebral palsy, polio, rickets or tuberculosis.

KIRAN’s dream is to see a society where differently abled men and women from marginalized communities may see no discrimination, rejection and are embraced by society. They are dedicated towards a holistic development of differently abled children and youths, which includes education, rehabilitation, vocational trainings and social integration in a barrier free environment. KIRAN aims to empower differently abled children and young adults from marginalized families to take care of their own needs and become fully included in mainstream society.

A team of well-educated professionals attends the children and their families at KIRAN Village and many of the surrounding towns. They care for the rehabilitation (diagnosis, therapy, medical measures, orthopedic aids, prevention) as well as basic education and vocational training. Furthermore, there is also an affiliated school for special needs teachers. KIRAN also accepts children without disabilities – mostly from very poor backgrounds, in order to promote mutual acceptance and social integration.

The care services provided at KIRAN Village include among others:

  • Parent & Childcare Unit
    Parents are guided and children are diagnosed
  • Out-reach services
    Individual counseling and guidance
  • Orthotic & Prosthetic Unit
    Produces a range of assistive devices, highly customized based on individual needs in order to bridge the gap to maximum possibility
  • Physio Unit
    Various types of therapy to facilitate children’s rehabilitation
  • Mothers Training
    Parents, particularly mothers, are trained to look after their special need children
  • Psychology Services
    Psycho therapy to children
  • Speech Therapy Services
    Works with children who have communication related issues
  • Inclusive Education
    Raises awareness towards the importance of education. Capacity building for school teachers, co-ordination with government officials to ensure dlivery of benefits and protect rights of differently abled children and marginalized girls
  • Clinic Services
    In-house clinic provides care to all students

KIRAN originates from the Hindi word for ‚sunbeam’. Founded in 1990 the KIRAN village shall present a ray of sunlight for people of different origin, caste, religion and language – an optimistic interreligious and intercultural institution promoting a society without stigma towards the differently abled ones.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search